The Fish Scale: Mild, Medium, and Strong Flavors

Food Love
The Fish Scale: Mild, Medium, and Strong Flavors

Primary Media


January 19 2022


One fish, two fish, mild fish, strong fish. If you're new to eating seafood, here's a simple cheat sheet for understanding which fish are mild-tasting and which have stronger flavors.

No matter where on the "fish scale" you start, remember that when you buy Hy-Vee seafood, you know it was responsibly sourced.

To learn even more about fish (and shellfish), check out our Seafood Made Easy cooking guide.

  1. Mild

    Most white fish—think tilapia, halibut, grouper, cod—are considered mild in flavor but sometimes have a delicate, sweet, and buttery taste. That's why we like these fish as options for seafood beginners.

  2. Medium

    Fish like tuna and mahi mahi are also light in color but have slightly more flavor. These types of fish can stand up to moderate flavors such as salsa and vinaigrette. 

  3. Strong

    Fish that are higher in fat, such as salmon, mackerel, herring, anchovies, and sardines, have much stronger flavors than other fish. These are the fish known for their heart-healthy omega-3 fats.