11 Surprising Foods That May Contain Gluten

Wellness: Nutrition
11 Surprising Foods That May Contain Gluten

Primary Media

scrambled eggs on a plate.


September 18 2018


Did you know that some restaurant eggs use pancake batter in the eggs to make them extra fluffy? Or that some potato chips contain wheat starch or malt vinegar? Learn more about these hidden sources of gluten. Also, check out our 2018 gluten-free product shopping list.

  1. Beyond Barley, Rye, and Wheat

    Wheat, barley, and rye are the grains to avoid if you're following a gluten-free diet. But what about all the derivatives of wheat? These include wheatberries, durum, emmer, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham, Kamut, and einkorn wheat—and yes, they do contain gluten. Also watch for triticale, brewer's yeast, and wheat starch that has not been processed to remove gluten.

  2. Malt

    Malt is a cereal grain generally made from barley, which is not gluten-free. Look for these various forms of malt on the label: malted barley flour, malted milk or milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, and malt vinegar.

  3. Oats

    In their purest form, oats are naturally gluten-free. However, many oats are processed in factories where cross-contamination is a concern. And in some cases, cross-contact can occur in fields where oats are grown near wheat. That's why it's important to look for oats that are specifically labeled gluten-free. Find them in the gluten-free aisle of the HealthMarket department.

  4. Restaurant Eggs

    Eggs are gluten-free, but some restaurants use pancake batter (which is not gluten-free) to fluff up scrambled eggs and omelets. There's also a risk of cross contamination when eggs are cooked on the same grill as pancakes and other gluten-containing foods.

  5. Potato Chips

    Most of the time, potato chips are gluten-free. But some potato chip seasonings contain wheat starch or malt vinegar. If you're jonesing for a salty, crunchy snack, the Hy-Vee HealthMarket section has a wide selection of new and favorite gluten-free items, including apple straws, pretzels, beet chips, bean chips, tortilla chips, and more.

  6. Condiments

    Soy sauce is made with fermented wheat, and therefore contains gluten. Other condiments like salad dressings, marinades, sauces, and gravies may include soy sauce or thickeners that contain gluten.

  7. Processed Meats

    Breadcrumbs are often used as binders or fillers in sausages, meatballs, burger patties, and meatloaf. Also remember that imitation crab and hydrolyzed vegetable protein may contain gluten.

  8. Veggie Burgers & Meat Alternatives

    In addition to wheat fillers, veggie burgers and sausages may contain seitan, known as wheat gluten, so be sure to read the label.

  9. Soups

    Noodles and barley in soup are among the more obvious sources of gluten, but keep in mind that some cream soups use thickeners that contain gluten. Also remember that stocks and bouillon bases may contain gluten.

  10. French Fries

    French fries are made from potatoes, which are gluten-free, but some restaurants or manufacturers may use a gluten-containing coating to keep fries from sticking together.

  11. Licorice

    Although there are a number of gluten-free brands now, licorice is generally made with wheat flour, so be sure to read the ingredients.