Also indexed as:No Egg, Contains No Egg
Allergy to eggs is one of the most common causes of food allergy in infants, young children, and adults. An egg-free diet removes eggs and products that may contain eggs. Some people choose to follow an egg-free diet because they are vegan or lacto-vegetarians.
- Read those labels—Be sure to learn the scientific names for egg, and read nutrition labels carefully to avoid buying products with any form of egg.
- Be thorough—Ask about ingredients at restaurants and others’ homes to make sure the food you are eating is safe for you.
- Find a substitute—Consider what function the egg would serve in your recipe before deciding how to substitute for it.
Best bets: Commercial egg substitutes (read labels carefully; many egg “substitutes” contain egg whites); soft tofu can resemble eggs when spiced and scrambled with cheese, vegetables, or breakfast meats
Copyright © 2015 Aisle7. All rights reserved. Aisle7.com
Learn more about Aisle7, the company.
Learn more about the authors of Aisle7 products.
The information presented in Aisle7 is for informational purposes only. It is based on scientific studies (human, animal, or in vitro), clinical experience, or traditional usage as cited in each article. The results reported may not necessarily occur in all individuals. Self-treatment is not recommended for life-threatening conditions that require medical treatment under a doctor's care. For many of the conditions discussed, treatment with prescription or over the counter medication is also available. Consult your doctor, practitioner, and/or pharmacist for any health problem and before using any supplements or before making any changes in prescribed medications. Information expires June 2016.